History of Troop 47

Scoutmasters — Sponsors — Eagle Scouts

Troop 47's history began in 1967 when Steven L. Darling, pastor of the Methodist Church of Foster City, set up the charter for a Foster City Boy Scout Troop. His church was the original sponsor. Two years later, the sponsor was changed to the "Dads of Troop 47", with Clifford H. Lipson as Scoutmaster. Meetings were held at Audubon Elementary School. An exceptional Scoutmaster during the 70's was Frank Marchi. His administration graduated 6 Eagle Scouts, bringing the total to 17 Eagle Scouts in the 1970's .

In 1984, the Mariner's Island / Foster City Rotary Club became Troop 47's sponsor. Troop 47 moved its meetings to the Foster City Recreation Center. Notable Scoutmasters in the 80's included Rick Ely, Rick Wykoff (now Mayor of Foster City), Rich Meux, Ev Benton, and Tim Hyer. Troop 47 graduated 9 Eagle Scouts in the 1980's.

In the 1990's, under the leadership of Scoutmasters Rich Cloues II , the late Hank Balough, Don Hanson, Ric Mauricio and Russ Wilder, Troop 47 graduated 28 Eagle Scouts.

The 21st Century has brought a new era to Troop 47. Meetings have moved to the new Foster City Community Center building. Scoutmaster Alvaro Orozco (Eagle Scout and Troop 47 alumnus from the early 1990's) provided leadership from 2000 until 2002. Our current Scoutmaster Tim Hyer has return for a second term to lead Troop 47. As of 2005, Troop 47 graduated 13 Eagle Scouts.

This brings the grand total for Foster City Troop 47 to 67 Eagle Scouts since its inception.